A Salute to Teachers

November 21, 2020

SDCCU Celebrates Local Educators as the Presenting Sponsor of A Salute to Teachers

San Diego’s finest educators were recently celebrated at the 30th Annual “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers.” SDCCU was the proud presenting sponsor of the celebration, which is held each year in partnership with the San Diego County Office of Education. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the show was pre-recorded this year and highlighted the work and dedication of the county’s more than 26,000 public school teachers and culminated with the announcement of the following five 2020-2021 San Diego County Teachers of the Year:

  • Arah Allard, Del Mar Hills Elementary School, Del Mar Union School District
  • Christine Hill, Ramona High School, Ramona Unified School District
  • Jose Melo, Valley Center Middle School, Valley Center-Pauma Unified School District
  • Paula Richardson, Wilson Middle School, San Diego Unified School District
  • Jay Tweet, El Capitan High School, Grossmont Union High School District

The five winners will represent the County of San Diego in the California Teacher of the Year program. This year’s 40 nominees were selected by their respective districts based on student achievement, professional development and community involvement, teaching philosophy, knowledge of current issues in education, promotion and development of the teaching profession, accountability and ability to serve as ambassadors of education.