San Diego County Credit Union Congratulates the 2019-2020 San Diego County Teachers of the Year

SDCCU is the proud presenting sponsor of A Salute to Teachers

SAN DIEGO, Calif., (September 10, 2019) – San Diego’s finest educators were celebrated at the 29th Annual “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers” brought to you by San Diego County Credit Union® (SDCCU®), San Diego’s largest locally-owned financial institution. Held in collaboration with the San Diego County Office of Education and Cox® Communications, the black-tie gala was a presentation marking the 46th year of San Diego County Teacher of the Year program.
The event took place on Saturday, September 7 at the Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego and was broadcast live on Cox Communications’ YurView (Cox Channel 4 and 1004 in HD). The Academy Awards-style television special highlighted the work and dedication of the county’s more than 22,000 public school teachers, and culminated with the announcement of the following five 2019-2020 San Diego County Teachers of the Year:

  • Don Dumas, Bonita Vista High School, Sweetwater Union High School District
  • Christine Hansen, Quantum Academy, Escondido Union School District
  • Hilda Martinez, Zamorano Fine Arts Academy, San Diego Unified School District
  • Nicole Miller, Mission Hills High School, San Marcos Unified School District
  • Kelly Tulloch, Mountain Empire High School, Mountain Empire Unified School District
The five winners will represent the San Diego County in the California Teacher of the Year program. This year’s 42 nominees were selected by their respective districts based on student achievement, professional development and community involvement, teaching philosophy and personal style, knowledge of educational issues and trends, promotion and development of the teaching profession, school culture and ability to serve as ambassadors of education.
“SDCCU is honored to support and recognize our region’s invaluable educators through our sponsorship of A Salute to Teachers. We congratulate the five winners for their outstanding work and commitment to enhancing the future of today’s youth,” said SDCCU President and CEO Teresa Campbell. “While educating our students is a top and lifelong priority, we wish to recognize the excellent work of all teachers and applaud their tireless devotion to classrooms and communities everywhere.”
San Diego County Credit Union is San Diego’s largest locally-owned financial institution serving San Diego, Riverside and Orange counties. SDCCU has assets of $8.4 billion, over 412,000 customers, 43 convenient branch locations and 30,000 surcharge-FREE ATMs. SDCCU provides breakthrough banking products that meet the demands of today’s lifestyle and delivers banking services that save customers money. SDCCU is leading the way, offering FREE Checking with eStatements, SDCCU mobile banking, mortgage loans, auto loans, Visa® credit cards and business banking services. Federally insured by NCUA. Equal Housing Opportunity. For more information, visit