SDCCU congratulates the 2016-2017 San Diego County Teachers of the Year

SDCCU is the proud presenting sponsor of A Salute to Teachers

San Diego’s finest educators were celebrated at the 26th annual “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers” brought to you by SDCCU. Held in collaboration with the San Diego County Office of Education and Cox® Communications, the black-tie gala was a presentation of the 43rd Annual San Diego County Teacher of the Year Awards.
The event took place on Saturday, September 10 at the Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego and was broadcasted live on Cox Communications’ Channel 4. The Academy Awards-style television special highlighted the work and dedication of the county’s 26,000 public school teachers, and culminated with the announcement of the following five 2016-2017 San Diego County Teachers of the Year:

  • Jenny Anderson, Casita Center for Technology, Science, and Math (Vista Unified School District)
  • Brooke Crocker, Santana High School (Grossmont Union High School District)
  • Stuart Douglas, Granger Junior High School (Sweetwater Union High School District)
  • Megan Gross, Del Norte High School (Poway Unified School District)
  • Amy Schwenke, Fallbrook Street School (Fallbrook Union Elementary School District)
The five winners will represent the County of San Diego in the California Teacher of the Year program. This year’s 43 nominees were selected by their respective districts based on student achievement, professional development and community involvement, teaching philosophy and personal style, knowledge of educational issues and trends, promotion and development of the teaching profession, accountability and ability to serve as ambassadors of education.
“San Diego County Credit Union is once again incredibly proud and honored to support our region’s invaluable educators. While educating our students is a top and lifelong priority, we wish to recognize the excellent work of all teachers and applaud their tireless devotion to classrooms and communities everywhere,” said SDCCU President and CEO Teresa Halleck. “These outstanding teachers make it possible for students to acquire the knowledge, skills and opportunities they need in order to thrive.”

San Diego County Credit Union is San Diego’s largest locally-owned financial institution serving San Diego, Riverside and Orange counties. SDCCU has assets of $7.6 billion, over 325,000 customers, 39 convenient branch locations and 30,000 surcharge-FREE ATMs. SDCCU provides breakthrough banking products that meet the demands of today’s lifestyle and delivers banking services that save customers money. SDCCU is leading the way, offering FREE Checking with eStatements, SDCCU Mobile Deposit, mortgage loans, auto loans, Visa® credit cards and business banking services. Federally insured by NCUA. Equal Housing Opportunity. For more information, visit